Deleting whole cells

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Deleting whole cells

The ribbon command Home | group Cells | Delete delete_cells_icon not only deletes the content of the selected cells but also removes them from the worksheet completely.

If you click on this command, a dropdown menu appears where you can determine how the other cells should be moved up after the deletion process.

The following options are available:

▪Delete cell, move cells up

The selected cells are removed, and the cells below move up.

▪Delete cell, move cells to the left

The selected cells are removed, and the cells to the right of them move to the left.

▪Remove complete rows

The entire row(s) including the selected cells are removed. The rows below move up accordingly.

▪Remove complete columns

The entire column(s) including the selected cells are removed. The columns right of them move to the left accordingly.

▪Delete worksheet

Removes the worksheet (including its contents), see Managing worksheets.