Deleting the content of cells

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Deleting the content of cells

To delete the contents of cells, proceed as follows:

1.Select the relevant cells.
For more information on how to select cells, see Selecting cells and cell content.
2.Press the Del key on the keyboard (or the ribbon command Home | Cut cut_icon ).

Only the contents of the cells are removed, not the cells themselves (see next section Deleting whole cells).

Selective deletion

If you use the ribbon command Home | group Contents | Delete delete_special_icon (Delete special) instead, you determine exactly what will be deleted.

The program displays a dropdown menu with the following options:

▪All

Deletes everything – cell contents as well as formatting, comments, conditional formatting and input validation.

▪Formatting

Removes only the formatting (number format, character format, borders, etc.).

▪Contents

Deletes only the contents. Everything else (formatting, comments, etc.) is kept.

▪Comments

Removes only comments that have been added to the selected cells, leaving both content and formatting intact (see Using comments).

▪Conditional formatting

Removes only the conditional formatting (see Conditional formatting).

▪Input validation

Removes only the input validation (see Input validation).

▪Reset character formatting

Removes all character formatting, that you have applied, from the selected cells (see also Resetting the character formatting).

▪Remove link

Removes the hyperlink, but the cell or text passage to which it is assigned remains intact (see also Using hyperlinks).